Dale Watson Helps Celebrate Sun Recording Studios



Media Advisory




Lance Cowan


(615) 331-1710





“Ameripolitan” artist Dale Watson Performs on NBC Nightly News;

Celebrates 60th Anniversary of Famed Sun Recording Studios


MEMPHIS, TENNESSEE — As he prepares for the release of his Truckin’ Sessions Trilogy (slated for July 8 on Red River Entertainment), Country traditionalist Dale Watson recently joined NBC’s Lester Holt in Memphis, Tennessee to celebrate the60th Anniversary of Sun Studios.  Watson performed Don’t Let The Screen Door Hit You and Adios with an acclaimed group of musicians, including bassist Dave Roe (Johnny Cash, Jerry Reed), drummer JM Van Eaton (Jerry Lee Lewis) and pianist Rick Steff(Lucero).  (Holt handled bass duties on Adios).


The segment is scheduled to air Saturday, July 5 at  6:30 p.m. ET / 5:30 p.m. CT on NBC Nightly News.


Watson has recorded five solo albums as Sun Recording Studios. Opened by rock pioneer Sam Phillips at 706 Union Avenue in Memphis, Tennessee, on January 3, 1950 Sun Recording Studios was originally called Memphis Recording Service, sharing the same building with the Sun Records label business. Reputedly the first rock and roll single, Jackie Brenston and his Delta Cats’ “Rocket 88” was recorded there in 1951 with song composer Ike Turner on keyboards, leading the studio to claim status as the birthplace of rock & roll. Blues and R&B artists like Howlin’ Wolf, Junior Parker, Little Milton, B.B. King, James Cotton, Rufus Thomas, and Rosco Gordon recorded there in the early 1950s. In the late 50s, such icons as Johnny Cash, Elvis Presley, Carl Perkins, Roy Orbison, Charlie Feathers, Ray Harris, Warren Smith, Charlie Rich, and Jerry Lee Lewis, recorded there.


In 1998, “Ameripolitan” artist Watson issued a 14-song collection of songs in the tradition of Red Simpson, Merle Haggard, Red Sovine and Dave Dudley called The Truckin’ Sessions.  He followed that release a year later with another 14-song outing, The Truckin’ Sessions 2.  Now, the maverick country traditionalist is adding another new 14-song set,The Truckin’ Sessions 3, to the group, and now, Red River Entertainment will release them all in one package, The Truckin’ Sessions Trilogy.




To schedule an interview with Watson, for artwork, a review copy

of Truckin’ Sessions III or more information, contact

Lance Cowan • LCMedia • (615) 331-1710 • lcmedia@comcast.net.

More information is available at








Lance Cowan • LCMedia •  lcmedia@comcast.net • www.lancecowanmedia.com
Phone: 615-331-1710 • P.O. Box 965 • Antioch, TN 37013


Representing:  Joe Ely • Michael Martin Murphey • The Flatlanders • Terry Allen •  Jonathan Edwards

TweelX • The Nashville Jazz Orchestra • Reagan Boggs • Swamp Donky • The Kentucky HeadHunters

Rockology • RW Hampton • Sharon Ely • Dale Watson • Reagan Boggs • Mike & Dorris Merritt

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *