Groton Rotary Club Installs New Officers

John Scott photo-reduced size

Groton Rotary Club’s new president John Scott IV

GROTON – John F. Scott IV will serve as president of the Groton Rotary Club for the 2013-14 Rotary year.  Club officers were officially sworn in at a special luncheon meeting held recently at the Thames Club in New London.

Other officers installed were:  Donna Hogan, vice president; Dee Hauber, treasurer; and Conrad Heede, secretary.

At large members of the Board of Directors are:  John Silsby, Cathy Lathrop, Diane Thomas, R.B. Kent, Ken Startz, Lian Obrey and Peter Grader.

The Groton Rotary Club has changed its meeting times in an effort to attract new members.  The club will continue to meet at 12:15 – 1:30 p.m. on the first and third Tuesdays of the month.  But, in order to encourage prospective members to join, the club will meet on the second, fourth, and fifth Tuesdays, if it applies, from 5:30 – 6:30 p.m. for a fellowship hour.  All meetings are held at the Octagon Restaurant in the Mystic Marriott Hotel on Route 117 in Groton.

President Scott says he is hopeful that the evening meetings will make it possible for more local business people to become Rotarians.  Many people are unable to leave their officers for an hour and a half during the middle of the work day, he explained.  “We purposely designed our new meeting schedule to accommodate those folks,” Scott emphasized.

The Groton Rotary Club is a community organization dedicated to the theme, “Service Above Self”, and welcomes new members. Persons interested in joining the club should visit the Club’s web site at or contact a local Rotarian.  A list of Rotary Club members is on the web site.