Girl Scout Gold Award Recipients Honored in Old Lyme Ceremony

Among the Girl Scouts who gathered to honor new God Award recipients were (l-r) Jennifer Chapman, Emily Paine, Hallie Hallman, Amy Lee, Shannon Chapman, and Sarah Behringer.

The Lyme-Old Lyme Ambassador Girl Scout Troop 63059 hosted a special ceremony at Memorial Town Hall in Old Lyme — a “Celebration of Women” that honored two troop members with the prestigious Girl Scout Gold Award.
The Gold Award is the highest in Girl Scouting.
Shannon Chapman is the first Girl Scout in Old Lyme since 2006 to receive this award; Amy Lee also became a Gold Award honoree.
The ceremony was attended by numerous local and state dignitaries as well as the 2006 Gold Award recipient, Emily Zemba; the ceremony was an opportunity to acknowledge the Lifetime Membership Awards given to Troop 63059.
State Senator Andrea Stillman and State Representative Marilyn Giuliano combined forces to present Chapman with a General Assembly Official Citation from the state of Connecticut.
Old Lyme First Selectwoman Bonnie Reemsnyder and Old Lyme Selectwoman Mary Jo Nosal followed with the presentation of a proclamation from the Town of Old Lyme to Chapman and Lee.
Chapman began her Girl Scout career as a Daisy Scout and has remained an active Girl Scout for the past 14 years. Her Gold Award project involved deepening public awareness of the trail systems in Old Lyme; she has already been recognized for this work by the Girl Scout State Council.
Chapman, who is currently a sophomore at Boston University majoring in painting, comments, “I feel that earning my Girl Scout Gold Award has really helped me in my other endeavors beyond Girl Scouting.”
Lee’s Girl Scout Gold Award project was titled, “Run Like a Girl.” The program met Sundays for a run followed by a developmental lesson. The girls worked up to a 5K finale, but also grew with activities such as cooking to learn about nutrition, zumba to learn about various forms of exercise, activities to learn about team spirit, and more. Lee is now a biology major at Sewanee: The University of the South.